L4 MicroKernel to be Utilised in Select QUALCOMM Chipset Solutions

November 25, 2005

NICTASydney, Australia, 24 November 2005—National ICT Australia (NICTA), Australia’s Centre of Excellence in Information and Communications Technology research, today announced a collaborative effort with to use NICTA versions of the L4 Microkernel and the Iguana operating system together with select versions of QUALCOMM’s Mobile Station Modem™ (MSM™) chipsets. The L4 Microkernel and Iguana operating system provide a high-performance, secure platform for embedded systems such as mobile communication devices. ”We are pleased to be working with QUALCOMM to utilise the L4 microkernel as the foundation for a trusted computing platform on embedded wireless devices,“ said Professor Gernot Heiser, leader of NICTA’s Embedded, Real-Time, and Operating Systems (ERTOS) program.  Commenting on today’s announcement, NICTA CEO Dr David Skellern said, “Although a small project initially, we hope to further develop our relationship with QUALCOMM through demonstrating the innovative research being conducted in Australia. This collaboration illustrates how NICTA is facilitating access to international markets for locally developed research.“ As the leader of the ERTOS team, Professor Heiser is involved in NICTA research projects concerned with the development of a software framework for secure embedded systems, untrusted device drivers, and a formally verified operating system kernel.


NICTA is a national research institute with a charter to build Australia’s pre-eminent Centre of Excellence for information and communications technology (ICT). NICTA is building capabilities in ICT research, research training and commercialisation in the ICT sector for the generation of national benefit.  NICTA is funded by the Australian Government as represented by the Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts and the Australian Research Council through Backing Australia’s Ability and the ICT Centre of Excellence program.  NICTA was established and is supported by its members: The Australian Capital Territory Government; The Australian National University; NSW Department of State and Regional Development; and The University of New South Wales. NICTA is also supported by its partners: the University of Sydney; University of Melbourne; the Victorian Government; the Queensland Government; Griffith University; Queensland University of Technology; and Queensland University.

« View All Press Releases